House Research

From SJCPLSubjectGuides

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(2 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 4: Line 4:
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp;  [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Sanborn_Maps.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=22 Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Digital]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp;  [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Sanborn_Maps.pdf Help sheet]
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=114 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf Help sheet]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=114 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card  
'''St. Joseph County Links'''
'''St. Joseph County Links'''
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=54 1875 Atlas Online]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=124 1875 Atlas Online]
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=55 1936 Platbook Online]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=125 1936 Platbook Online]
*[http://www.iusb.edu/~libg/archives/index.shtml IUSB Archives]
*[http://www.iusb.edu/~libg/archives/index.shtml IUSB Archives]
*[http://www.hlcm.org/htlm/archives.html Lindahl Children's Museum Archives]
*[http://www.hlcm.org/htlm/archives.html Lindahl Children's Museum Archives]
Line 14: Line 14:
*[http://www.centerforhistory.org/ Northern Indiana Center for History]
*[http://www.centerforhistory.org/ Northern Indiana Center for History]
*[http://www.nd.edu/~archives Notre Dame University Archives]
*[http://www.nd.edu/~archives Notre Dame University Archives]
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=36 Obituary Index] <br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf Help sheet]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=126 Obituary Index] <br>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf Help sheet]
*[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/ St. Joseph County Government]
*[http://www.stjosephcountyindiana.com/ St. Joseph County Government]
*[http://www.saintmarys.edu/%7Elibrary/Archives/archives.htm Saint Mary's College Archives]
*[http://www.saintmarys.edu/%7Elibrary/Archives/archives.htm Saint Mary's College Archives]
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=53 Service Notes Index]
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=53 Service Notes Index]
-
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=30 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card &nbsp;&nbsp; [http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Indiana_Newspapers.pdf Help sheet]
+
*[http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=114 South Bend Tribune Online Archives]<br/>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Use with Library card  
*[http://www.walkerton.org/history.html Walkerton Area Historical Society]
*[http://www.walkerton.org/history.html Walkerton Area Historical Society]
Line 29: Line 29:
-
Once you have some names of former residents, you can try to locate their obituaries by using our [http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=36 Obituary Index] ([http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf help sheet]).  You might discover that one of those individuals built or first occupied your home.  Our newspaper clippings files might contain some biographical information about your home's previous owners too.
+
Once you have some names of former residents, you can try to locate their obituaries by using our [http://www.sjcpl.org/research/ccount/click.php?id=126 Obituary Index] ([http://www.libraryforlife.org/research/helpfiles/Obit_Index.pdf help sheet]).  You might discover that one of those individuals built or first occupied your home.  Our newspaper clippings files might contain some biographical information about your home's previous owners too.
Line 47: Line 47:
[[About Local & Family History Services | Contact and find out more about Local & Family History Services]]<br />
[[About Local & Family History Services | Contact and find out more about Local & Family History Services]]<br />
-
Created by: [[User:Libby the Librarian | Libby Feil]], October 2005<br />
+
Created by: Libby Feil, October 2005<br />
Last updated June 2, 2011.<br />
Last updated June 2, 2011.<br />
[[Category:Hobbies]] [[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]
[[Category:Hobbies]] [[Category:Genealogy & Local History]]

Latest revision as of 17:50, 9 June 2011

Subscription Databases

St. Joseph County Links

Turrellfarm.jpg








Helpful Hints for House Histories

By John Kovach

There are a number of places to check if you are looking for some history about your home. To find out who has lived in the home, you can use city and county directories. Start with the year you moved into the house and work backward in time. Local & Family History Services has South Bend directories from 1867 to the present. The Library also has some county directories, which may exist as their own books or may be part of some city directories.


Once you have some names of former residents, you can try to locate their obituaries by using our Obituary Index (help sheet). You might discover that one of those individuals built or first occupied your home. Our newspaper clippings files might contain some biographical information about your home's previous owners too.


You can also track how the shape of your house changed by finding it in the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (help sheet). The maps are available in the Library or at home with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card.


Another great resource for finding out more about the date and style of your home is a set of reports from the Historic Preservation Commission of South Bend and St. Joseph County. In particular, the 1993 City of South Bend Summary Report: Indiana Historic Sites and Structures Inventory has lots of information about local architectural styles, including lists and some pictures of historic homes and neighborhoods. The 2007 edition includes even more buildings, including modern-style homes, and includes an extremely useful index. There is also a 2006 edition of this work that covers St. Joseph County outside of South Bend and is just as helpful.


Of course, the Local & Family History Services librarians have lots more tips to share with you when you come in for a visit!


Back to the Local History page



Contact and find out more about Local & Family History Services
Created by: Libby Feil, October 2005
Last updated June 2, 2011.

Personal tools